Letter to Mrs. Obama

Dear First Lady Obama,

I am reaching out to the President and yourself to congratulate you both on a successful 7 years in office. I also wanted to sing your collective praises for an outstanding State of the Union yesterday. I also wanted to follow-up with you regarding White House Case # 20160105-06780308 (Bullying). My daughter (age 8) is both an honor student and a Girl Scout in Troop. She unfortunately has been subjected to an extreme form of bullying and harassment by another juvenile who attends her school. This bullying includes attempted murder, physical assault, attempted sexual assault, slander, defamation of character, cyber-bullying, and harassment. What’s amazing is that while she has been depressed and isolated she has remained on the honor roll throughout this whole ordeal. And that’s a big deal. I worked tirelessly day in night in working with officials at the Maryland State Department of Education, Howard County Board of Education, HCPSS, State Delegates, and members of Congress in an effort to remove my daughter from the toxic environment at her former elementary school. My daughter and I attended the Howard County Public School Systems Town Hall on Education on 8 December 2015.  My daughter and I served as the kickoff speakers of the event where we both spoke of her ordeal. My daughter proudly grabbed the microphone as you so often do in recounting her horror story in front of approximately 200 individuals to include State Delegates, Congressmen, other elected officials, the general public, and members of the press. This Town Hall is available for public viewing at this URL https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ah9R73epuzc. She and I can be heard at the 7:00 minute mark. HCPSS turned a death ear to anyone that tried to assist my daughter and I with this ordeal until I reached out to yourself Mrs. First Lady and Mr. President. Howard County Public Schools finally approved my daughter to transfer to her new school on 6 January 2016 after I reached out to you.

If it is not too much to ask, could you please recognize my daughter for her bravery and strength of resolve by visiting her school? Could you perhaps even Skype her a shout out at school? Doing so would let every student know that bullying will not be tolerated by anyone at school or in our communities. Thank you so much for all that you have done for this nation and this country. And an extra special thank you for what you have personally done for my daughter and myself.

Sincerely,

Dedrick L. Moone
A Humble Man and Father

Leave a Reply

