Raising Awareness Via Press Notification

Good morning,

I would like to report on the impact of bullying in Howard County Public Schools. It’s been stated that Howard County has one of the strictest Anti-bullying programs in the state; however, this is far from the truth given my personal account. Howard County was also recently ranked as the Number 1 school district in the stated of Maryland; however, I beg to differ. My daughter has been suffering at the hands of a bully who both goes to her school and lives in our neighborhood. Those empowered to ensure her protection within the Howard County School System have done little to ensure her protection and comfortability while she’s at school. What’s more the school system has failed me on multiple occasions in not informing me of the proper protocol to report bullying nor of my rights to report. As such, my daughter and I have suffered a great deal. I subsequently reached out to the Howard County Board of Education in an effort to facilitate an out of district transfer request at this has become a public safety issue. However unfortunate as it may be the Howard County Board of Education School Reassignment Office has been unwilling to treat it as such. With that in mind, I subsequently reached out to the Maryland State Board of Education as my daughter has reported to me on multiple occasions that she does not feel safe at school. The State Department of Education is doing all that they can do to help facilitate the transfer. Nevertheless a report/investigation should be conducted into bullying at….and Howard County Public Schools because if something isn’t done we’ll have other Grace McComa’s on our hands. Please, please, please, see below for additional detail and help me get our story told.

V/r

Dedrick Moone
A Humble Man and Loving Father

Leave a Reply

